Slide 1


Church Information

Organisations & Activities


In 2009 Broomhill Church adopted one of the formal written Church of Scotland constitutions, namely the Model Form of constitution. Prior to that time Broomhill did not have a formal constitution due to its background as a Free Church, then a United Free Church. The Model Form of constitution consists of a Kirk Session and Congregational Board as the two Courts managing the affairs of the Church.

The Kirk Session has responsibility for the spiritual affairs of the Church.  Its spiritual responsibility involves leadership, nurturing the spiritual welfare of the congregation and its members, caring for the spiritual welfare of the parish and parishioners, encouraging members to participate in the worship and life of the congregation and promoting mission and evangelism in the parish.

The Elders who make up the session have a commitment to undertake, along with the Minister, responsibility for the life of the congregation in all its aspects, including worship, mission and service to the wider community. This involves pastoral care, practical tasks, e.g organisation visits, door duty, taking part in worship, leading in worship, administration, outreach and education. Elders are expected to attend and support congregational activity, encourage youth and other church organisations, tend the needs of the parish and take responsibility for a congregational district, attend worship regularly, give of their time and money, attend Kirk Session meetings and work in partnership with other elders and the minister.

In addition the Session is responsible for the appointment of church officer, organist, choirmaster and any other officials.

There are currently around 50 Elders and the session meets at least six times per annum.

The Congregational Board has responsibility for the control of the financial and other temporal affairs of the congregation. This includes:

  • Determining how the budgets required to support Church operation are set, agreed, managed and monitored for the Treasurer, Church Office, Fabric Committee and various Church organisations and special projects.
  • Creating and maintaining among members of the congregation a commitment to the provision, by regular giving, of sufficient income to meet the cost of the whole financial an other temporal affairs of the congregation and to take all necessary and appropriate measures to that end.
  • Enabling the Congregation to provide donations via Gift Aid and to manage the collection of tax receipts in accordance with statutory regulation.
  • Maintaining the fabric of all relevant heritable properties in proper order and repair and fully insured against loss or damage by fire and also against loss or damage.
  • Affording the congregation convenient opportunities for contributing to any objects for which the General Assembly shall have enjoined special collections.
  • Making such collections as may be deemed necessary for the needs of the poor or other religious or charitable purposes.
  • Producing and getting approval of Annual Accounts in the required format for submission to OSCR and CofS.

The Board has two permanent Committees, a Finance Committee and a Fabric Committee.  In addition it has a Fundraising Committee and a Flower Committee. Each Committee is chaired by a Convenor who is appointed by the Board which also approves the membership of each committee. Committees are comprised of both Board and non Board members. In addition, two other financial appointments are made, the Treasurer and the Free Will Offering (FWO) & Gift Aid Convenor. This latter officer is responsible for dealings with the Office of the Scottish Charity Regulator (OSCR).

The Board meets at least six times per annum and also holds an Annual general meeting for the congregation. The Bard has both Elders and congregational members elected for periods of three years. Currently there are 25 members, 14 elders and 11 members of the congregation.

Members of the Board, except those without voting rights, together with members of the Kirk Session who are not members of the Board comprise the Charity Trustees.

Both Courts are chaired by the minister and each has its own Clerk. They are the signatory officers of the Church and are responsible for managing the affairs of their respective Court.

The office bearers are:

Session Clerk

Gordon MacCallum

Clerk to the Board

Norma Paterson

Presbytery Elder

Alan Sutherland

Finance Convenor

Donald Lindsay

Fabric Convenor

John Boyle

Treasurer /

FWO and Gift Aid Convenor

John R Thomson

Social & Events Convenor

Pauline MacKenzie